“The Song of the Birds” exhibition by Katia Kameli La Criée contemporary art centre, 21 May 2022 14:00, Rennes.

21 May – 28 August Free on site

Consisting of musical ceramics, watercolors and video, the exhibition is a variation of the famous text of Iranian poet Farîd-ud-Dîn ‘Attar.

La Criee presents contemporary art center Song of the BirdsChoral exhibition and new production of Katia Kameli, in which Katia Kameli presents a variation of the famous text of the same name by the Iranian poet Farîd-ud-Dîn ‘Attâr, consisting of musical ceramics, watercolors and a film. With Song of the Birds, Katia Kameli continues her cross-cultural journey and shrugs off her new material, soil.

The text of Attar (1174-1248) describes the journey of thousands of birds in search of Simorgh, a magnificent bird and central figure in Persian mythology. Beginning is a symbolic and spiritual journey through seven successive valleys of Desire, Love, Knowledge, Abundance, Uniqueness, Confusion, Poverty, and ‘Non-Extinction’. Only thirty birds reach the end of the journey under the guidance of Hoopoe, the symbol of wisdom.

Katia Kameli gradually became interested in this important text of Eastern culture through various French translations: first that of Henri Gougaud, then that of Jean-Claude Carrière, and finally that of Leili Anvar, from which she was named.
With this reworking of Attar’s text, the artist continues to explore the stories, their sequential translations, their flow, and the depth and polysemy gained from the stories.
It also deals with the spiritual dimension of Attar’s story, the inner search that emerges through the figure of the bird, an animal that connects the earth to the sky and whose language is both very familiar and very mysterious.

Katia Kameli’s translation of Song of the Birds is sensual and very sensual. It comes in a series of ceramics that take the form of some of the birds in the poem: hoopoe, peacock, nightingale, heron, etc.
These sculptures are also musical instruments. We hear their songs accompanying them in the film, where a group of musicians move them, and during performances that resonate the exhibition space.
Watercolors, some of which are preparatory drawings for ceramics, complete this allegretto. His inspirations are many, from Persian miniatures to Minoan sculptures, through Valentine Schlegel or Asger Jorn. Made on paper in different formats, some are surrounded by a clay frame; They are located at the intersection of scientific art and popular art. Like the sculptures, they are about the birth and memory of the gesture.

With Song of the Birds, Katia Kameli offers a new translation experience – from one work to another, from one art to another, from one medium to another, from the unspeakable to the visible, etc. – produces both gaps and hiccups.

We don’t invent anything, we always reinterpret it in another language. Katia Kameli

La Criée center for contemporary art Honoré Commeurec 35000 Rennes Center Ille-et-Vilaine

Saturday, May 21 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, May 22 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, May 24 – 12:00 – 19:00
Wednesday, May 25 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, May 26 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Friday, May 27 – from 12:00 to 19:00.
Saturday, May 28 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, May 29 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, May 31 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Wednesday, June 1 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Thursday, June 2 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, June 3 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, June 4 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, June 5 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, June 7 – 12:00 – 19:00
Wednesday, June 8 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Thursday, June 9 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, June 10 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, June 11 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, June 12 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, June 14 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Wednesday, June 15 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, June 16 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, June 17 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, June 18 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, June 19 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, June 21 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Wednesday, June 22 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Thursday, June 23 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, June 24 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, June 25 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, June 26 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, June 28 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Wednesday, June 29 – 19:00 – 20:00
Thursday, June 30 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Friday, July 1 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, July 2 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, July 3 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, July 5 – 12:00 – 19:00
Wednesday, July 6 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, July 7 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, July 8 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, July 9 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, July 10 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, July 12 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Wednesday, July 13 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Thursday, July 14 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, July 15 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, July 16 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, 17 July – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, July 19 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Wednesday, July 20 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, July 21 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, July 22 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Saturday, July 23 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, July 24 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, July 26 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Wednesday, July 27 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, July 28 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, July 29 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Saturday, July 30 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, July 31 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, August 2 – 12:00 – 19:00
Wednesday, August 3 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, August 4 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, August 5 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, August 6 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, August 7 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, August 9 – from 12:00 to 19:00.
Wednesday, August 10 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, August 11 – 12:00 – 19:00
Friday, August 12 – 12:00 – 19:00
Saturday, August 13 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, August 14 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, August 16 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Wednesday, August 17 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, August 18 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, August 19 – between 12.00 and 19.00.
Saturday, August 20 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, August 21 – 14:00 – 19:00
Tuesday, August 23 – from 12:00 to 19:00.
Wednesday, August 24 – 12:00 – 19:00
Thursday, August 25 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Friday, August 26 – between 12:00 and 19:00.
Saturday, August 27 – 14:00 – 19:00
Sunday, August 28 – 14:00 – 19:00